PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 22, 2011
I have had some really frustrating bowls of McLelland's St. James Woods Flake. My two major problems are as follows: MAJOR tongue bite and it is tremendously difficult to keep lit. The puffs are pitiful. I don't expect a bonfire, but this is ridiculous. I do smoke other flakes quite successfully (and without pain), such as Irish Flake. I realize that it sounds as though the tobacco is too moist. However, please read below.
I have attempted different combinations of the following:
1. Letting it dry, anywhere from 1 hour to 8 hours.

2. Partially and Fully rubbing it out...using finely rubbed and dried "kindling".

3. Trying different bowl sizes and shapes.
I WANT to like this tobacco. It is beautiful, and I have (on occasion) had a good tasty puff. What can I do that I haven't already done?

jameral

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 29, 2011
San Mateo
I'm no expert, but it would seem that the only other variable you haven't listed is your packing technique. Perhaps this particualr baccy would require a different method than what you are currently employing.

puffin

Might Stick Around
Dec 18, 2010
I had some trouble with University Flake. Bite hard and wouldn't stay lit. Rubbing it out helped a bit, but I just wasn't enjoying it, and I couldn't taste the casing that some say is quite prominent. Put it in the cellar and completely forgot about it. A year later, and it was a totally different experience. Easy burning and just sweet enough. If you don't like it now, put it away for a while in a mason jar, and see what some time does to it.

schmitzbitz

Lifer
Jan 13, 2011
Port Coquitlam, B.C.