PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stumpyds8

Lurker
Mar 15, 2012
I am new to pipe smoking. I love it, totally hooked. I have been experimenting with different tobaccos and will post about those in an attempt to learn more about them.
Anyway, my real questions are:
I bought a Molina pipe, roughly $60 or so. Love it. I smoke 4-5 bowls a day or so, or less. I love cleaning it and I scrape out the bowl and pull the stem off and run a pipe cleaner through it. I smoke all sorts of different types of tobacco at this point.
I have noticed that is broke in now for sure and smokes alot different then it did when I first got it (much better) -- I am sure some of that is experience.
So... my question is ... What should I do for a deep cleaning? And, when smoking this heavy... should I buy a few more pipes and at the end of the day clean it good and cycle through the others to allow rest?

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Personally I don't think you need to do more than run a pipe cleaner after each smoke. And you shouldn't really scrape too much or remove them stem when the bowl is still warm.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
The improved smoking of the pipe is no doubt that it has developed some cake and you are more experienced in packing it. I run cleaner thru mine and wipe out the bowl with a twisted paper towel after each smoke, but I don't like a thick cake. Once very six months or so, I do a deep cleaning with more cleaners and some Everclear.

cajunguy

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
For deep cleaning the bowl, you may use a number of methods:
Non Iodized Salt + Everclear (cleans & sweetens)

Kosher Salt + Everclear (cleans and sweetens)

Salt (Either Type) + 91% Rubbing Alcohol (cleans)
You may also use cotton balls in place of salt. I would recommend this if your bowl chamber ever shows signs of extensive wear, like tiny cracks.