PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

1adsarge

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 19, 2016
NE Nevada
I am very new to pipe smoking and ordered my first few tins of tobacco to smoke in my Preben Holm freehand. I am a huge fantasy/scifi guy and saw the Middle Earth Pipeweed Series on justforhim.com. I figured that would be a good place to start so I ordered a few ounces of Longbottom Leaf, Old Toby, and Treebeard. Has anyone tried this stuff and could share there insight? Second, I am trying to decide on the best method of lighting. I have read that matches don't burn clean and will leave a nasty taste as well as butane lighters like a Zippo's. What is your preferred lighting method. I'd like to hear what you experts have to say. Thanks for any input!
Cheers,

Jared

stickframer

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 11, 2015
Welcome. I've not tried those tobaccos, so can't comment.
Matches or a zippo are both good. I smoke outside so I prefer the zippo. With either method, burn it for a few seconds to get rid of the sulphur or fluid smell and you'll be good to go.
If you use matches go with wooden ones.

LOTR names for tobaccos is for suckers. Just find a blend that you'll like and rename it after your favorite hobbit or wizard.

As far as what you light your pipe with, I haven't found a way to light my pipe that matters a hill of beans. If you taste fluid or the match, it's only for a second. I don't notice anything.
Welcome to the forums, where every question will get you at least a dozen conflicting answers. Ha ha!

redpanda

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 11, 2015
I think matches is the best thing you could light your pipe with. Second best is a gas lighter. Zippo stinks (some like it ).Welcome.

virginiacob

Can't Leave
Dec 30, 2013