Complete beginner to smoking. A little overwhelmed.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

simonthomas

Lurker
Mar 11, 2014
Firstly I want to say hello to everyone and after reading many threads, posts, reading information from others and my own research I have come to the conclusion that at the age of 27 I want to try to smoke the pipe.
I haven't always had an easy time (as many others) but now I find myself as I reach closer to 30 :| that the finer things and timings in my life are what allow me to compute and relax. I drink tea a lot and it is the process and use of my senses which allows me to relax. I get the feeling that the process is not all that different to pipe smoking. Choosing the right leaf, opening the tin and allowing the aromas to take affect. Preparing the cup, leaf, sugars and water. Getting the process is just as crucial and of course enjoying the fruits of your labor. I'm rambling a bit here but I know everyone here understands ha ha. When I try explain to my friends they simply look at me like I have gone crazy.
I like the idea of slowing down and having the time to prepare my pipe and contemplate life and a million other things ready for whatever I need to do next. Which leads me to my problem...
I don't smoke, I don't drink and I don't do drugs. I have never even tried a cigarette before (even at the age of 28 lol) and yes am worried about tar and nicotine. I know they go hand in hand with smoking and have also read about the risk is less with pipes as you don't necessarily inhale. I am pretty much set on a curved pipe but what gets me is the tobacco. I know I would like something which ideally has a very low nicotine content with some rich flavors such as vanilla, honey and herbs. Deep smokey aromas. I am not sure if this is possible with the low nicotine tobaccos.