PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

juni

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
How do you do it??
I've been smoking pipes for a few years and finally got some soft bits to try clenching.
It is awful! If I keep the pipe in my mouth it triggers a gag reflex and feels very uncomfortable. Can one ever get used to it?
I guess I'll always be a handholder.

drsam

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 25, 2011
I clench. Walk around most of the time with a pipe stuck in my mouth. When I had teeth I used to heavily dent or even bite through the bit sometimes. Tight jaws I guess. Since dentures I don't bite so hard.

porshcigar

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Naperville
I just saw a television program on HGTV called Selling Spelling Manor. It is about the sale of the 56,000 square foot, $150,000,000.00 mansion of the late Aaron Spelling, the famous TV producer of Dynasty, Starsky & Hutch, 90210, etc. There are many video tapes of the late Aaron Spelling smoking his pipes around the mansion. He was a GREAT CLENCHER. My favorite was seeing him bowling with a pipe clenched in his mouth. They had a two lane bowling alley in the mansion. A great show for pipe sighting.

ace57

Lifer
Jun 21, 2011
I like clenching, dosent make me drool at all! [:puffy:] tho I tend to smoke faster
Same with Me.

juni

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
So you hold the pipe with your teeth? Doesn't it hurt after a while?
I guess there are more handholders than me out there. :)

Jun 26, 2011
Pacific Northwest USA
I balance or rest the pipe in my teeth/dentures more so than actually biting down on it.

In order to facilitate this about half of my herd are bents. Most of these being full bent followed by 1/2 bents with a few 1/8. The straights that I clench most are all on the light side of the spectrum.

Hmmm, I s'pose I should weigh the things, can't really say where the weight cut-off for comfort is for me.

mlaug

Part of the Furniture Now
May 23, 2010
Iowa