PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnyreb

Lifer
Aug 21, 2014
Anyone else like cigar store Indians & other hand carved trade figures? Totem poles? These Indians were all carved before 1910:
img

img%5D

img%5D

My love of antique cigar store Indians & trade figures started at a young age with a two chair barber shop that sold cigars, tobacco & candy and a pool hall with 7 tables in the back, in our small town. The owner had a 6' Indian with a couple of wheels on the base and a wooden barber pole made the same way, that he would roll out on the sidewalk every morning when he opened for business. I wish I had a picture of that now!
img%5D

I have been doing some wood, antler & bone carvings for about 3 yrs now, mostly small Indian fetish trinkets and some so far unimpressive wood spirits (need training on how to carve better faces). Completely self taught with no former training or artistic talent.
img%5D

I've set a goal for myself to improve my carving starting with smaller cigar store Indians by carving some 3"x3" square walnut stock I happen to have in lengths from 20" to 30" long. The goal is to feel competent enough to attempt a 5' or 6' Indian in a few years. I plan to source some logs this year, to dry & cure. It might just turn out to be expensive firewood but I'm going to give it a try!
Credit for all pictures to this website:
http://www.cigarstoreindians.com/

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
I can't pass by such without stopping and admiring. A true antique might stop me in my tracks for quite a while. I like to examine the tool marks. Had I the room and not the added cost of getting them to Alaska I would have a collection.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK