PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cajunguy

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
No, I'm not talking about the play, although One Night in Bangkok is an awesome song. I was wondering if anyone here enjoys the game or considers it a serious hobby. After a few years, I've finally returned to the game, studying matches, and trying to improve my horrible technique. :crazy:
Any favorite games you've watched/studied? How did you get interested in the game? Funny stories? It's not a topic I've seen written about except in passing in other threads. Maybe this can be the official chess thread!
I started playing seriously in high school. My father actually taught me the game when I was eight, but I realized in HS there was a club where you actually competed in chess tournaments. Sadly, I wasn't good enough at the time to make the team, and I had too much other crap on my plate. But I made good friends who remain friends to this day, people who mercilessly kicked my ass and then kindly explained why it got kicked. It's been a love of mine ever since. :)

eaglerico

Lifer
Jan 8, 2011
I love chess but I have never been into it enough to watch matches nor had the luck of having a club to participate in. An uncle, whole I was very fond of, taught me how to play. He has since passed. He told me of stories of how a Korean guy in the army taught him how to play. He lost 200 matches before beating him. He tried to do the same to me. Lol. I got to 50 before I beat him. Other then my uncle I have never had anyone else I could sharpen my skills with.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012