PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jstnhwrd21

Lurker
Dec 21, 2013
I'm fairly new to making pipes and my first few attempts were thwarted by soft wood or overly dry wood with hidden cracks. I have recently tried a variety of woods such as cedar, birch, and some type of elm. I have a few Bodark/ Horse apple trees in the back acre that I've thought about taking down and using it for a pipe, as the wood is durable, flexible, non-porous, and extremely strong once dried. It will tear apart chainsaw blades in a heart beat and termites won't come near it when it's dried because it becomes almost as hard as stone. I'm curious to know if anyone has tried to make a pipe from Bodark, and if so are there any natural toxins in it, how well does it smoke, and how long does it last?

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
Also known as Osage Orange- I've used it for shank extensions. It should be fine for a pipe- biggest challenge is working it without discoloring. If you buff or sand it too aggresssively, it tend to burn,,,

ejames

Lifer
Oct 6, 2009
I've used it for tampers and like working with it. I have two turning blocks of Osage Orange I bought just to make pipes from,as soon as the wood is dry enough to work. Do you have an Mulberry trees around? Mulberry makes a great pipe,I've made about half a dozen from it.The color is quite similar to Osage Orange,think the Osage may be a bit harder.

wcannoy

Can't Leave
Nov 29, 2012
Lakeland, FL
Why not just get hold of Tim West at J.H. Lowe. He has a website that's easy to find in a search, and he'll sell you a decent block of briar for less than ten bucks. I hear briar is great for making pipes! :wink:

bluesmk

Can't Leave
Jul 13, 2013
Bethlehem,PA
" I hear briar is great for making pipes!" 8O
There's also a forum of pipemakers new and seasoned with a wealth of information:

http://www.pipemakersforum.com/forum/index.php
Dan

Gabrieli Pipes

rolldog