Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gc45

Lurker
Nov 20, 2012
I'm not sure where this should be posted, so I'll start here.

I live on Vancouver Island. I've been ordering tobacco from Smoking Pipes for about 2-1/2 years. Until about 6 months ago, all shipments passed through Canada Customs unscathed. I have kept them right around 200g, usually a little under. Since the first time a shipment was caught by customs it's been happening with increasing frequency. I'll generally place an order for myself every 2-3 weeks as well as a couple a month for friends who use a certain Oriental blend as rolling tobacco. With more & more being caught, I decided to try smaller quantities (~100g). Same result. About 75% are now being caught. Perhaps customs has some means of red-flagging a recipient or shipper, or they are simply being more diligent sniffing out tobacco imports.

Anyone have similar experiences lately? Suggestions?

schmitzbitz

Lifer
Jan 13, 2011
Port Coquitlam, B.C.
gc45, I don't have any suggestions other than to keep trying. I too have been noticing a huge increase in the amount of packages being assessed duty (I'm in Vancouver), be they single tins or larger. That said, if I order a lone tin of C&D product, I will be assessed $18 duty on it, bringing the cost up to around $30 CAD - still $20 cheaper than through City Cigar or R.J. Clarkes...so even if I knew I was going to get a customs fee levied with every order, I wouldn't hesitate to use the U.S. etailers.

chakaraka

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 28, 2012
Vernon, BC, Canada