Can you flavor pipe tobacco with grapes??

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpicking

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 23, 2011
With all of the fruits used to flavor pipe tobaccos, has anyone heard of using grapes?? (Other than something like wine or brandy.) I can't think of any myself, but I'm still pretty much a neophyte.
I ask because I have a wild grapevine that I've been cultivating for a few years, and it's getting ready to have a huge crop of small, tart, Concord-like grapes in a month or so. I'm also growing a nice selection of pipe tobaccos this year, and I was wondering what it would be like to flavor some of my cured tobacco with my wild grapes.

jameral

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 29, 2011
San Mateo
You'll never know until you try. I think that you have a good opportunity to do so given with what you have mentioned. Let us know how it turns out. :puffy:

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Speaking from personal experience...

I sometimes "spritz" a bowl or two with Christian Bros. Brandy.

I keep a 1 oz. spray bottle handy for just such a mood requirement.

:puffy:

martiniman

Apr 6, 2012
@lawrence.

is is as simple as a spritz? Wouldn't this get the baccy too wet? more details please......
OP- Capt Bob, where r u? bump.

barkar

Lifer
Apr 17, 2012
If you did and it didn't turn out....would that be the "grapes of wrath"?.....sorry.. :rofl:

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
is it as simple as a spritz? Wouldn't this get the baccy too wet? more details please......

My process is very simple.

I just put a bowl or two of 1Q on my 'rub-out' saucer.

Give it a spritz or two. I don't soak it.

Then I let it sit and dry out for 30 minutes to an hour. (Sometimes longer, depends on the relative humidity, I suppose.)

Stuff and puff.

philip

Lifer
Oct 13, 2011
Puget Sound
Put your tobacco and grapes in a big barrel.