PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

timm2

Lurker
Aug 5, 2012
Can I just smoke a quarter of a bowl without any harm done to me (ie, getting burned do to not enough tobacco in pipe or tongue bite or anything else)?
Sometimes i want to just smoke for about 10-15 minutes and don't want to waste tobacco. I also don't want to fill the bowl - smoke what i can - then smoke it again later.
Also if i can do this, will i loose out on the quality of the smoke?
P.S. I'm A beginner and really need some advice.

Thanks All

keith929

Lifer
Nov 23, 2010
Why not just get a pipe with a small bowl chamber. That way you won't waste any tobacco. Even If you only partially smoke a pipe with any bowl size and smoke the rest later I see no reason why you would lose any taste/flavor of the tobacco.

schmitzbitz

Lifer
Jan 13, 2011
Port Coquitlam, B.C.
I do this fairly regularly - with a toddler, an infant, and a business to take care of and a propensity to keep a pipe burning whenever possible means I often have to set my pipe down mid-bowl. In fact, if you peruse the forums, you will find this practice even has a name - the Delayed Gratification Technique (or DGT); and even benefits the flavour profile of some tobaccos; imparting a rich, earthy flavour akin to dark-firing.

My pipes don't seem to suffer for the practice, nor does my cake build-up seem uneven or soft - although I am fastidious to the point of being anal when it comes to the cleanliness of my bowels bowls.
Note: For the purposes of reviewing a blend, I do ensure that I have enough time to dedicate to the smoking of the entire bowl before I sit down - although I do undertake the DGT method with a minimum of two bowls in the process.

friday

Might Stick Around
Aug 23, 2012
Of course, with DGT, by definition, one would lie the pipe down part way through the smoke and return to it later and smoke the rest, right?
Yes

mluyckx

Lifer
Dec 5, 2011
Texas
Timm