Can anyone smell what they are smoking ?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakenist

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Middle England
I have read quite a few post's discussing smoking tobacco and they say, it smells great, I have been smoking for over 40 years and have never been able to smell what I am smoking, if I lay my pipe down, go out the room, then reenter, I can smell it, but sitting smoking I can taste it but never smell it, people often say, that smells lovely and I say it does doesn't it, but I'm fibbing really. I love it when other people are smoking pipes around me, at least I can smell what they are smoking.

sajgre

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 13, 2010
I can't but I love the smell of some tobaccos when pipe goes almost out and I smell the smoke coming from the bowl.

burghbriar

Lurker
Jan 8, 2012
Evidently, what smells good to me smells different to other people. I taste the tobacco more than I smell it, but it's there.

meech

Lurker
Apr 17, 2012
With the pipe hanging right in front of your nose you may not notice it.. Especially after that long of a time you're used to it so it doesn't stick out to your senses. Once you go from one odor to another it changes quickly and that's when you notice it.. I'm sure there's a better explanation but it's like how fast food workers tend to stop noticing the smell of grease or garbage men learn to not mind that hot trash smell.

checotah

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2012
@tobakenist, I have the same experience regularly, and have been smoking a pipe over 45 years. Everytime I try a new blend, I wish I had someone else around to light up a bowlful before I do just so I could get know how it smells. Unfortunately, we pipe smokers are in a real minority around this neck o' the woods, and the few I know do not smoke English/Balkan blends.

Jul 15, 2011