PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdre0b

Lurker
Mar 16, 2015
I'm having a bit of an issue deciding what to purchase as my first briar pipe. At first, I was just going to buy a new dr grabow or kaywoodie pipe. These seem to be rather difficult to find for me (no b&m nearby) as most of the sites are out of stock or have a single option open. I'm not sure about buying an estate pipe but I am looking at several options. As I'm new to pipe smoking I was only hoping to spend $20-$30. If this is unrealistic please let me know. If you know of a site let me know.

jackswilling

Lifer
Feb 15, 2015
Check on ebay. I just got a NOS Unsmoked Medico Medalist Zulu filter estate pipe for $20 delivered. Has some hokey tobacco leaves carved in it, but it do smoke just fine.
$_57.JPG

jkrug

Lifer
Jan 23, 2015
4noggins has a decent selection of Brindisi's for $38.95, a few Dr Grabow's for under $30 and a couple Medico's for $24.

Might find what you're looking for there? :)
...or just shoot daniel a pm and yer good to go! Nice.

mdre0b

Lurker
Mar 16, 2015
4noggins has 1 option in a briar and 1 in brylon. I'm not going to buy something I don't think I'll be happy with. I'll continue to smoke my $5 MM Ozark and wait for more options. P&C and 4noggins advertise selling Medico, Dr Grabow, and Kaywoodie but are out of stock of almost all.

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
Stay away from the Brylon. Occasionally someone will say they are fine but generally, they are regarded poorly. I think the above advice is probably the best. Ebay has some great values when you are looking at no-name or basket pipes. You'll probably find something you like for under $20 shipped. Maybe even under $10, especially if you're willing to put a little elbow grease into it.
The best advice is probably message Daniel though. The generosity of pipe smokers has never failed to impress me.

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas