Breaking in ? (Another newbie frustration)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mluyckx

Lifer
Dec 5, 2011
Texas
OK, so I need to ask this question once again. Even with all the differing opinions out there of "half bowls first" all the way to "just stuff and puff".
Background:

As a newbie I've been fortunate enough to get some nice pipes since I started. In particular a Sav 626 and a Peterson XL02 for Christmas. A couple of months ago my wife bought a Peterson 999 and I bought a Sav 616. Total of two new Savs to break in, two new Petersons. That's the background.
/Start Rant

Here's the frustration, question, rant:
Both Savinelli's have been hard on me to get to smoke properly, cool and without too many relights. I've smoked three bowls in the 626 and all three required frequent relights, to the point where it got frustrating. Two puffs, relight, two puffs, relight. Or really hot smoking with me lurking like a freight train trying to stop the pipe from going out. Tried different tobacco's in the Sav (1-Q, Mark Twain and just now Kendal's Kentucky) and all three gave me the same problem. Tried really loose, to tighter packing. The 616 ? Same issue. To the point where an experienced pipe smoker told me that larger bowls are harder to keep lit, so I put it away for now. But that 626 is not any bigger than any of my other pipes. So I'm thinking his argument may be flawed. My Pete's... not an issue. Pack nicely with some 1-Q, light, smoke away. Perhaps two or three relights in the bowl right from the get go.
Has anyone had any similar experiences ?
Could it be that the "pre-coating" in the Petes does indeed help newbies like me ? I'm leaning towards this since my BC and FeRo came pre-coated as well and did not pose any of the frustration I have with the Savinelli's.