Breaking In A New Pete - Strange Taste...

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

grouchydog

Can't Leave
Oct 16, 2013
Afternoon folks. Bear with me, I'll try and keep it concise.
So I'm getting started on breaking in a new Peterson Donegal Rocky Canadian for a flake pipe (basically non-aro, non-Lat).
First bowl a couple weeks ago was some Stonehaven, which I hadn't had prior. There was a strange and not-altogether pleasant taste to the smoke. Since I have little experience with burley and have been on a Latakia kick since May, I just wrote it off as a very different taste that I'd get used to.
Last night I smoked the Pete again with some University Flake. As I got it going, I noticed the same taste. Since it was a different blend and the taste was similar, I focused on it more intently and it emerged as a plasticky, sour-oily kind of thing. As I got further into it the burn kind of went down center (because I suck at flakes, with a capital "SUCK") and when it did, that plasticky taste faded some.
This is a new Peterson, so I will assume that it's dip-stained and covered with whatever their pre-carb coating is.
My question is, how likely is it that I'm "tasting the newness" of this pipe? Is this normal and, if so, how long can I expect it to last - until it's covered over with cake, or is there some curing kind of thing of the stain that needs to happen?
Thanks in advance for any input!

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
It's almost certainly the taste of the stain. It'll take several more bowlfuls to clear out on its own;

but if I were in your situation I would swab the bowl with an alcohol soaked paper towel.

theediabeticman

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 5, 2014
Swab the bowl as Cortez said