PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

workman

Lifer
Jan 5, 2018
The Faroe Islands
I'm still new to this. I'm trying out different blends and ways of packing and cutting and rubbing out etc. I sometimes get outstanding smokes and sometimes these wet, bitter tongueburners. I'm experimenting with virginia flakes mostly, it's what I like the most, and it is kinda challenging.

Then from time to time I pack a bowl of either Nightcap or Red Rapparee and they never fail. Always cool, sweet, tasty smoke from start to finish, leaving a dry sweet smelling pipe. I don't crave them as often as I do virginias, but when I do, they never fail. Nightcap and Red Rapparee.

Do y'all have some trusted blends as well?

headhunter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 12, 2013
I think I would give up on the Virginias, sounds like you are on the right track with your alternatives.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
I got several Cornell & Diehl bulk blends recently, Winchester, Virginia Gentleman and Shandygaff.
They are all easy going smokes. Ribbon/shag cut usually plays nice, moisture and packing considered.
I've also had an easy time with the very dry Daughters & Ryan blends, once I managed to slow my cadence to adapt.
Leave one of those challenging flakes out to dry twice as long as usual and see what happens.
Figuring out how to enjoy each tobacco has been an interesting part of the game for me. If I'm in a hurry or something, I just default to a more reliable option for that smoke.
If you save the flakes for relaxed times, those wet tongue burners will become less frequent.
jay-roger.jpg

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida