PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

natibo

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 10, 2013
Cincinnati, OH USA
So I have a bent pipe that does not always pass the "pipe cleaner test". When I do a thorough cleaning I remove the stem. But what about the end of the day cleaning before I let it rest for a week. If I can't get a pipe cleaner through at the end of the night, should I remove the stem and clean it. Or, is removing the stem that often (once a week) bad for the pipe?

bryanf

Jul 16, 2013
None of my bent pipes (I only have 3 bents) will pass a cleaner thru to the bowl, either. Make sure to let the pipe cool before pulling the stem or you could crack it. Been there, done that. After cooling, pull the stem and clean.
Harris (cigarmaster) mentioned doubling a pipe cleaner to clean the draw hole. I've been doing that for a couple months now, and it works really well!

cmdrmcbragg

Lifer
Jul 29, 2013
It would be wise to leave the stem attached if you're going to run pipe cleaners through right after a smoke. Military banded pipes are good for easy disassembly and cleaning after use.

lostandfound

Sep 30, 2011
You can take the stems out of your pipes as many times as you want throughout their lifetime, as long as you let the pipe cool for an hour + before doing so.

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
I always remove the stems for cleaning, once the pipe is cool of course. I've heard of people saying that you should only remove the stem every now and again as over time the fit will become loose. If this is the case, how do manufacturers with filtered pipes manage? You absolutly have to remove the stem to dispose / dry the filter. Do these pipes have a shorter life expectancy? I don't think so.