Beginner Here: When to "Tamp" and How to Store...

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bludgeoningdeath

Might Stick Around
Feb 28, 2013
Timberville Virginia
I apologize if these two issues have been posted in here already but I'm new to this forum. Feel free to redirect me. 1st question is I'm curious about when to use my tamper in the bowl. From reading online I know that after the initial "fake" light I should tamp down the ashes. Then some sources say light another "fake" light and tamp the ashes again...then do the final. Some sources say only one "fake" light then tamp.
But when I'm smoking should I tamp the ashes down again as I burn down the bowl? What is "Stirring" the pipe exactly? What is it's purpose and how do I do this?
Also I've found myself being so curious about different tobacco's that I've been buying more tobacco than I can smoke. They're all in ziploc baggies...about 3 ounces each at the most. Should I store them in lid tight jars instead like in the shops?

easterntraveler

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2012