PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gnatjulio

Lifer
Mar 22, 2012
New York
I just received a Savinelli Leonardo Da Vinci. I noticed that the bowl is bare wood without the layer of carbon. Since I'm a noob to the hobby and I dont want to destroy this nice pipe, are there any tips to breaking in the pipe in this state? Or should i just do the 1/3 bowl thing and smoke away? Thanks all...

barkar

Lifer
Apr 17, 2012
I usually alternate 1/2 bowl, 1/2 bowl, full bowl, 1/2 bowl, 1/2 bowl, full bowl and so on until I see the whole bowl starting to coat.

dervis

Lifer
Jan 30, 2012
Hazel Green AL
First congrats on an awesome pipe, really a fan of those. On your question you are going to get tons of answers. My vote is always load and smoke. Dont pack to tight. Dont smoke to fast. Don't worry to much the cake will come on its own.

steyrshrek

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 1, 2012
I just start with half bowls for 4-5 smokes then just slowly increase the bowl level til I'm smoking full bowls

nightmarejones

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 4, 2012
I have to say I'm with Barkar..1/2,1/2,full and repeat for the first few.It has worked for me on several pipes,and like dervis said you're gonna get tons of suggestions but try what works for your smoking style

lazydog

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2012
I rubbed a thin layer of black strap molasses in and all over the inside of the bowl. I know this is a no no for some pipe smokers, but I have always had no adverse effects, the idea being that burned tobacco sticks to the bowl inside and builds up a cake faster. Anyone consider this verbotten?

carlosviet

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 23, 2012