Tags:   

Are Wood Stems Better Than Plastic Stems

(39 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by naturesmokes
  • Latest reply from neverbend
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

naturesmokes

Login to Send PM

So I'm very new to pipe smoking and my absolute favorite time to smoke is when I'm out in the woods or on my back porch. Which hense the username. So I currently have 2 pipes. A 10 dollar corn cob and a decent briar pipe. One thing that really bothers me about my pipe is the fact that the stem is plastic. It would be cool to smoke out of a pipe with all natural materials. I've read that wood stems, the best being briar, filter out the bad tastes in tobacco smoke and alot of the moisture. Now if this is true, than why is it so hard to find pipes with wood stems? My favorite pipe tobacco is the Frog Morton blends tho

Posted 5 years ago #
  2. settersbrace

settersbrace

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

The closest briar pipe that I believe you are going to find that offers the most wood for smoke to travel through would be a Canadian or Lumberman shape. All conventional tobacco pipes have stems made of Vulcanite or Acrylic with the cob pipes being the exception as their stems are plastic. There may well be an artisan out there that incorporates wooden stems or bits into their pipes but I don't know of any. Welcome to the forums!

De gustibus et cloribus non disputandum.
    'There is no arguing about tastes and colours.'
    Posted 5 years ago #
  3. yaddy306

yaddy306

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Vulcanized rubber is natural.
    What's the problem?

Posted 5 years ago #
  4. wayneteipen

wayneteipen

Login to Send PM

I hear some pipemaker's are making stems out of briar these days. Ask misterlowercase.

Posted 5 years ago #
  5. misterlowercase

misterlowercase

Login to Send PM

Indeed!

Wayne has been making me an allbriar billiard that I'm very excited about.