PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

reichenbach

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 5, 2012
West Park, NY
Hello everyone,
So the reason I ask is because I'm thinking about going back to school to retrain as a radiological tech. I was wondering if there was anyone here who was one and could give me an idea of what your life is like, impressions of the job, pluses, minuses, bright spots, pit falls, everything and anything. My current job is going nowhere. I was thinking about a PhD for a while until I started to hear that there aren't enough tenure track positions to sustain the amount of PhD that there are now and will be in the future so I'm explore other options now. I'm also considering sheep farming which every idealistic person I talk to thinks will be awesome which makes me leery. I'm also open to any other ideas which may spawn another thread in the future. Right now I'm a horticultural science technician which is great but, like I said, it's not really going anywhere.

xray

Might Stick Around
Oct 1, 2011
NJ
I'm a former x-ray tech. I got my training in the Air Force and I've been out of the field for about five years. In the civilian world I worked in a busy inner city hospital mostly in the ER (my choice). It was a job where you spent a lot of time on your feet and constantly moving around. Of course in less busy and better staffed hospitals (although they're all under-staffed) you can actually spend a lot of time sitting around and shooting the shit with others.