Any People Who Practice Kendo? (Japanese Fencing)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kendodan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 22, 2013
Any fellow pipe smokers that practice Kendo as well? Just curious.

lostandfound

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 30, 2011
My dad practiced Karate when I was younger, though I can't remember which style, and I practically slept with his copy of Bruce Lee's Tao of Jeet Kune Do. I did Tae Kwon Do as an adolescent, and while I haven't had any formal training in a number of years, martial arts is something that played a defining roll in who I am today, and will always be in my blood.

ericthered

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 29, 2014
Suffolk, VA
I took a kendo class when I was in college, but haven't pursued it since then. I do still have my shinai stored away somewhere. It was too cool to get rid of.

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
I studied a lot more Batto-do and Tameshigiri but I also studied Kendo. Sadly there are no dojo's here in my town. Most of my current training is simply keeping up on Toyama ryu and Nakamura Ryu.

theboz

Can't Leave
Mar 12, 2013
United States
Both my parents practiced Kendo for a few years. They both still have their Bokken. Sadly I don't think either of them still have their swords.

frank13

Can't Leave
Oct 5, 2014
Bakersfield, CA
Japanese and American friends of mine practiced Kendo, when I was living in Japan. I observed a couple of times, but I gravitated toward Karate.

kendodan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 22, 2013
Glad to see that people have tried it or at least know about it! It truly is a wonderful martial art. I think the Zen mentality behind it and a pipe go hand in hand with each other.

layinpipe

Lifer
Feb 28, 2014