PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nitemair13

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 24, 2018
North Carolina
I'm still really new at all of this but I've come to notice something that perhaps some of the veterans can expand on.
I started out smoking tobacco that was already cut up. I believe this is called a ribbon style? Anyways, I've since tried a cake form (softer than a plug) a plug, and the flake styles. The ribbons seem to burn hotter and faster than all the rest. Is this common or something I'm doing wrong?
The plug, cake, and flake styles burn slower and I enjoy them more because of that. They pair well with my bent pipes as well, which I've also found I enjoy more.
But is it normal for the ribbon style tobacco (think captain black or Peterson luxury blend) to burn faster and hotter or am I doing something wrong? I prefer long smoke sessions as it makes me slow down and thus calm down.

Jan 8, 2013
This is for the most part true. But not all ribbons burn the same. It depends on how dry the blend is and the condiments used, as well as casings and toppings. But for the most part, ribbons will burn faster than flakes, etc.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
Wait until you try some Daughters & Ryan tobacco...
jay-roger.jpg

alexnc

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 25, 2015
Southeast US
Seems normal. Flakes and plugs do seem to burn slower than ribbons. I do vary slightly for some styles, like I'm particularly gentle with a shag. Or I might pack a plug looser than a ribbon. Sort of a feel for what I'm smoking.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
kindling vs logs? pretty much that's the analogy here. achieving the optimum pack depending upon each blend's presentation is what we all fight with, some of us have better luck with experience maybe?

npod

Lifer
Jun 11, 2017