PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelergypsy

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 15, 2016
So, I know most put their baccy in Masson jars. Would putting them in Ziploc bags, and then putting the Ziploc bag in a newer ammo can (one that still has a good gasket) give it enough of a seal so as to preserve the baccy for a length of time? (A couple month to a year at the most... unless I forget about it.)

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
The Ziplocs aren't airtight - if I recall, most folks don't recommend them for more than short-term (2 weeks) storage. Not sure about the seals on ammo cans - if they're silicone, they might work pretty well.

jerwynn

Lifer
Dec 7, 2011
Whelp.... Let me see, I have a lot of experience with steel ammo cans starting with a 1950s can marked .50cal/B52 to nearly present day NATO issues. I store, well, ammo in them. It never occurred to me to store tobacco in them. I think the reason is that there is an omnipresent stench of some military grade preservative or desiccant or something that is almost an overwhelming smell in every single can. I can take out a box of ammo that did not have that smell about it when I put it in, and when I open it up again it smells strongly of whatever that is. My fear would be that my beloved tobaccos most likely would take on that smell and I could not be rid of it... Like a military grade ghosting so to speak. It might be one of those things that bothers some people and not others, I don't know. But personally, I would not store my tobacco in those cans for that reason. I have not yet checked out any of the high impact plastic ammo cans yet... Maybe they might be better in that respect. Good luck though... You couldn't get anything tougher than those good old ammo cans!!

jerwynn

Lifer
Dec 7, 2011