PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

davedan

Might Stick Around
Dec 31, 2015
Hi guys,
complete noob here! I would like to age some tins of tobacco right at the back of my cupboard but there's only space for them to be stored on their side (ie vertically) rather than on the bottom of the tin. would this affect the vacuum seal or tobacco quality in years to come? Also, is three nuns a good aging blend? It has burley in it and I've heard buleys age terribly?

Thank you
Welcome to the Forum! Fixed thread title, please see rule number 9. Pertinent portion: Please capitalize words in the thread titles. Please use shift key as it makes your posts easier to read for others. Thank you, Robert.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
First point: Don't try to age anything you don't already enjoy.

Second point:
I've heard buleys age terribly?

Burleys don't improve with age,because of the low sugar content. Although Three Nuns has burley, it is primarily a Virginia blend,and should age nicely.

I don't see why being on the side should affect the seal,or anything else. I've seen tins displayed that way in shops.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio
That won't effect anything. If you have limited space I would suggest putting away some blends with mostly or all Virginia. Even if you don't

smoke them yet. Look what is available then "shop" reviews on tobacco reviews.com. You will likely want to try Virginias or VaPers and having a

few well aged tins will pay dividends.

Mike S.