PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fmgee

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 26, 2014
I am new to pipe smoking and have learned so much from lurking on this forum so thanks to everyone for all the sharing it has been very useful.
I currently have a Peterson Dublin #68 (bent billiard). I only smoke it once or twice a week so theoretically could get away with one pipe. But, two pipes sounds better than one!
My question is: Of the various shapes of pipes how much is aesthetics and how much can alter the smoking experience?
I am currently thinking of getting something from the Rattray Lowland series. Either the straight poker or the bent calabash. Both nice looking pipes, one is similar in shape to the pipe I have and the other is very different. Since I cannot hold them in my hand it is hard to go by feel. In many ways my first pipe found me as it just felt right in the hand. My local pipe shop had some Rattray's but not this series so it would need to be a special order.
And no both is not an option (just a desire).
Thanks for your throughts.

tppytel

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 23, 2014
The overall pipe shape is mostly aesthetic. But there are a few minor issues worth considering...
1) If you tend to clench your pipe in your mouth while you type/read/walk, a bent pipe will be easier to hold in your mouth for longer periods. Obviously, the overall size and weight are important here too.
2) Strongly bent pipes can be difficult to pass a cleaner through, which makes cleaning a real chore. This is more of a problem with low-end, heavily bent pipes. Probably Rattray's pipes are fine here.
3) Really short ("nosewarmer") or really long (churchwarden) pipes will produce hotter or cooler smoke due to the smoke traveling a shorter/longer distance on its way to you. But this isn't noticeable on "normal" size pipes.