PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

irishsmoker

Lifer
Feb 14, 2012
As I was cleaning my collection I noticed that I don't have a single solitary English made pipe! What is a nice $50-$125 brand of English pipe to look for? I'm now hellishly bent on finding one!

irishsmoker

Lifer
Feb 14, 2012
The reason that is the budget is because my fiancé is the one buying it for my Christmas and that was her max. I offered to add but she is gung ho about he paying for the whole thing and asked me what kind of pipe I would like and I told her I didn't have any English pipes.

gwtwdbss

Lifer
Jun 13, 2012
Can't go wrong with an Ashton or Ferndown. I have no experience with the other two Roth mentioned. They will cost ya just a bit more than $125 though but you won't regret it. If you are set on staying withing $50-$125 I would go with a Pre-Cadogan Era GBD. These pipes will have a linear stamp as the quote for Pipedia states below:
"Once GBD and Comoy's became one, the linear "London England" stamp became the round "Made in London England" stamp used on all later Comoys."

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana
Nat, look for Willmer, Charatans,Savory, I have 3 Savorys some say they are Dunhill seconds, don"t know about that but they smoke damn good in the 50$ range. The old cajun

stanwellman

Might Stick Around
Nov 5, 2011
irishsmoker, go check out www.briarblues.com/pipes/united kingdom or pipes under 100 $ and I am sure that you will find something that fits your taste and the lady's budget... have fun looking...

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
I'd say look for a Millville, but they're rather difficult to find here in the states. I also think Blakemar and Invicta are solid pipes.
But I agree with the others that you'll truly notice a difference with a higher end pipe. Save your pennies for an Ashton, Ferndown, Upshall, or Chris Askwith.

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas