PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana
Went to pick up my watch of 30 yrs a Rolex Explorer, it had stopped and the last service was 12 yrs ago. The only Rolex repair is at a high end jewelry store in Lafayette La. Chatted with the man behind the counter and was told 480$ to break it down and service. Plus parts. I shrugged and said ok, Guy asked if I was a Vet, said Navy but that was a long time ago. When I picked it up the bill was for 280$, I asked why the lower price and from the back came the owner and said if I didn't have to pay the repairman it would be nothing. I didn't know what to say, then I told him this is only the second time I've heard that, took my old Uncle and his wife to Branson , never haveing been out of Loiisiana and they asked if I was a vet and got highly discounted Show Tickets. I shook his hand with a lump in my throat. WOW!

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
Bradley,
Always good to hear of someone doing the right thing- there's not enough of that in the world today!

blueeyedogre

Lifer
Oct 17, 2013
There are quite a few places that will give Vets a break. In my mind its the least anyone can do for a serviceman. My Dad owned a drycleaners and would never charge to clean uniforms. He always said it was his way of giving back.

wyfbane

Lifer
Apr 26, 2013
Tennessee
Glad they hooked you up! Membership has it's priveledges.
I am often surprised at the level people will go to in order to honor us Veterans. It is very much appreciated on my end, I can tell you.
Good story! Thank you.

maxpeters

Can't Leave
Jan 4, 2010