PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

d4k23

Can't Leave
Mar 6, 2018
Texas
I was gifted a pipe from a good forum member Mike Thompson, a Scantic estate made in Denmark. Had some oxidation and a lot of chatter on the stem. I am by no means an expert on refurb, but here is my attempt. Used Oxy-clean on the stem and then 9 rounds of micromesh to brighten it up and take the chatter down. Some vigorous hand polish on the bowl (I bought a drill buffer but haven't tried it on any of my pipes yet).
Would be up for suggestions on how to make the stem a little less chatter (maybe like new?).
img_06971.jpg

img_06991.jpg

img-0698.jpg

And for the polish and clean up!
img-0752.jpg

img-0714.jpg

And if anyone was still curious, there were 227 pipe cleaners :)

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Would be up for suggestions on how to make the stem a little less chatter (maybe like new?).
A heat gun is your friend there. Looks great!
https://youtu.be/-82QQeE2rtY

donjgiles

Lifer
Apr 14, 2018
For the stem chatter, I would lightly sand with either a 440 grit sanding pad or medium fine grit sand paper.

I like sanding pads as they have a little give from the foam interior.

You will then need to run through the progression of Micromesh pads again.
Don

Chasing Embers

Nov 12, 2014
Thumb buffing a little plain white toothpaste on that stem will bring the shine up too.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
If you just sand, you'll remove a lot of material. The heat gun sounds like a good first step, followed by sanding.
BTW, the contrast between two of the photos showing the stem, one clearly showing a lot of chatter, the other concealing it. You don't need PS, just clever lighting and shooting angles. (Not suggesting for a second that OP is up to that at all; just a fine illustration of what could be done- and is by a certain pipe shiner known to many)

scloyd

Lifer
May 23, 2018