PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

guitrsnglocks

Might Stick Around
Apr 1, 2015
So I know there are hundreds of threads on room note and 1Q and the "pipe smell" but I kinda grow tired of searching through them.. I'm new to the hobby but basically got started because I loved the smell of my grandfathers pipe. I'm quite certain he always smoked something vanilla which is probably the smell I'm after. My question is since I can't smell my own room note and primarily smoke 1q, does it produce the aroma I'm so in love with? Basically what most describe as that sweet pipe smell? I know to the veterans of these forums this topic is surely old and monotonous. But any replies will be greatly appreciated! Thanks all!

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
You got it. That one certainly is what most would call their grandfather's pipe smell. Quite nostalgic, and very heavenly.

bernie2

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 23, 2015
Memories of my grandfather smoking is what drew me to smoking pipes as well.
Lane 1Q is as close as I can get to that room note that lingers in my memory from 35 years ago.
Apart from the room note it is a very tasty smoke.
Welcome to the forums!

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
I really don't 'get' a room note when I smoke. I'm too busy with what's going on in my pipe and my sensory glands to be able to smell room effect. Am I unusual? I don't think so, but most reviewers do comment on 'room note'.

bernie2

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 23, 2015
newbroom - I don't think anyone that is smoking can tell what the room note is. The only way I know how the room note is for Lane 1Q is I checked while my brother and nephew were smoking.

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
guitrsnglocks- I'll just throw out a couple other thoughts besides 1Q, since we are talking about your grandfather. I'm not sure how far back 1Q goes...but thinking about American pipe smoking in that era, I also wonder: