PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

FRed3137

Lurker
Mar 13, 2024
I'm fairly new to the tobacco world, as previous posts suggests i've been a cigar smoker for a few years now and i'm venturing into the vast world of pipe smoking.
I'm trying to make sense of all the different tobacco leaves names that's being mentioned in different blends.
It is rather confusing and intriguing at the same time.

Does anyone have a sheet of all the names, what are the characteristics, strength, nicotine level(if that's even possible)?
Or just a good link to a website for some informative reading?

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: AroEnglish
For making your way through the marketing copy on tins, the main two are burleys and Virginias. And, your main condimentals are perique, latakia, and Orientals. There are literally hundreds of oriental varieties, but very rare to see more than the word 'Orientals" on tins. Cigar leaf is a condimental; that is also used the same way the word "orientals" is used.

There are many, many more varieties, and varieties within varieties, like Virginia is a term used to cover Ukranian leaf, Canadian gold, yellow, orange, red, and brown color cures, etc... many more than I can list. Burley is almost the same.

But, for marketing copy, Virginias, burley, perique, latakia, and cigar is going to be what you mostly see listed.

Cavendish is a process, and Virginias and burleys can be used in this process.

I just realized that I just gave you an unexplained list. Maybe this will help.

Burley is a base PH, non sweet leaf, that has a sufficient nicotine easily absorbed.
Virginias are sweeter acidic PH leaf that has a lot of nicotine, however, because of acidity can not be easily absorbed
Perique adds a range of flavors from sweetly spicey to peppery.
Latakia is smokey, campfire, leathery, musty old books flavor.
Orientals can add anything from perfumey, floral, to church incense flavors.
Cigar is cigar leaf