PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Choatecav

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 19, 2023
Middle Tennessee
I'm a newbie to the site and I have just come back to the pipe having been smoking cigars for many years. I mention this because picking up a bag of the Ruins of Windsor from the Country Squire is what brought me back. It has a subtle taste and is very smooth on the mouth. As they describe it is:

A naturally Sweet & Tangy blend of Golden Virginias, Flue-cured Virginias, Burley, Turkish, and Louisiana Perique.​

• Bag Note: Herbal Tea, Cherry Tart, Cocoa Powder​

• Room Note: Toasted Bread, Oats, and a hint of Cinnamon.​

• Tasting Notes: Lemongrass, Grapefruit, Rye Bread, White Pepper, Stone Fruit​

I assure that you will enjoy it....

Jacob74

Lifer
Dec 22, 2019
Killeen, TX
I appreciate what you have got going on here. How did you feel about the nicotine level? Additionally, what was the aftertaste like, could it be a repeatable kind of smoke, or is it a one and done?

Reactions: Annaresti Red

Choatecav

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 19, 2023
Middle Tennessee
Thank you for the question. The nicotine level was, in opinion, quite low. Of course, bear in mind that I was coming directly from the world of cigars which I believe to deliver much more of a nicotine hit than pipe smoking.
It was and is, definitely a repeatable blend to enjoy as I have since ordered more and continue to smoke it in my rotation.
Also, I am not sure how familiar you may be with southern history, but the Windsor plantation was built in 1861 and survived the war but several years later, while being remodeled, a workman dropped a cigar which caught a blaze and destroyed the structure. All but the massive columns which now stand in Port Gibson, MS. As I smoke the blend mentioned, I couldn't help but reflect on this haunting image. Here is a picture.
IMG_1556.JPG

TexJake

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 7, 2022
Hill Country, TX