PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 31, 2012
The BBB is exactly like the WDC,

metal tenon screw in to wood shank, rather odd but very snug and 'clocked" perfectly, good open draw.
I was wrong about Hesson, he was Canadian.
I've seen a WDC ad from 1929 where the Hesson has already been updated to "Hesson Guard", they ran with that for a good while, and the later design is totally different,

Hesson-Life-12-20-1943-108-M3.jpg

Love this old WDC case,

"individullay baked"

:)

2953109_1_l.jpg

dmcmtk

Lifer
Aug 23, 2013
Hmm, I recently came across a WDC Milano bent, It's on the to do list, I'll be very careful taking the stem off, curious about the internals.

jguss

Lifer
Jul 7, 2013
Great thread, hard to know where to begin. Wait a minute, I know, with kudos to Troy!
I just have a few random remarks to add. First off, I'm not a patent lawyer, or any kind of a lawyer for that matter. It's true that I've been sleeping next to one for almost thirty years, but it turns out that's not very useful as a path for admission to the Bar. Nonetheless I've brushed up against intellectual property concepts a few times, and can say that patents can be, and often have been, easily evaded by finding other ways to achieve the same objective. More importantly in this case, as Troy noted the Dunhill patent makes it clear that sandblasting of pipes existed prior to their application; Alfred was just patenting aspects of his approach. We know that Dunhill patented many different kinds of innovations, and that he was a litigious sob when it came to defending what he thought to be his legal rights (the records show a variety of lawsuits on a variety of subjects). So the fact that other companies were making sandblasted pipes at that time is pretty good evidence that Dunhill didn't have anything particularly special that he could have enforced against competitors (by the way, Troy, you can add Orlik's Dugout as another early sandblast pipe to your list)