PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mercury38

Lurker
Nov 2, 2020
Leavenworth/Seattle Washington
Hello to all.
Thought I had joined long ago, but apparently not. The memory fades....
I guess I've been cheating - often searching the forums for this and that. But doing it quietly.
I've been smoking pipes for over 50 years after finding two Falcon Classics on a bus in the late 60's. (Its a long story) Haven't really stopped since. (After my first two, I stopped foraging and did actually purchase my smoking gear).
Now, I've pared the collection down to 97. A hodgepodge of Castellos, Petersons, Radices, Preben Holms, and many other disparate makers. But alas, no Falcons.
Needless to say, I'm glad to be here with like-minded folks. This forum is a resource second to none.

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA
Hello to all.
Thought I had joined long ago, but apparently not. The memory fades....
I guess I've been cheating - often searching the forums for this and that. But doing it quietly.
I've been smoking pipes for over 50 years after finding two Falcon Classics on a bus in the late 60's. (Its a long story)
We like long stories :)

jguss

Lifer
Jul 7, 2013
Welcome from NJ!

What part of the PNW are you in? I know the area reasonably well, having lived in Tacoma and then Portland for twenty years, with annual visits to family & friends ever since I left in late ‘81.

Mercury38

Lurker
Nov 2, 2020
Thank you all for the welcome.
FYI: I'm splitting time lately between Seattle and the Wenatchee/Leavenworth area. Originally from Santa Monica California, where my first pipe purchases were made at the original Tinder Box on Wilshire. Ed Kolpin was an incredibly friendly and patient man. Of course, being in my teens, the only pipes I could afford were cherrywoods and the occasional basket pipes he kept on the counter. Most of which I ruined.
Still miss that store and it's owner.

musicman

Lifer
Nov 12, 2019