PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Searock Fan

Lifer
Oct 22, 2021
U.S.A.
I have a giant one I use to drive tent stakes when I go camping. Just kidding. I always felt it was Castello's version of a freehand and some are really beautiful. Actually, the shape is probably about the easiest to make because you can get away with making an error or finding a flaw and it's easy to work around. As Stan would say to Ollie, "No one will be the wiser". puffy

Reactions: BenMN and heissa

dunnyboy

Lifer
Jul 6, 2018
New York
Here are some examples of "Great Line" pipes. It looks like SP calls them "Big Line" instead. I don't know if that's a translation preference or if "Big Line" is the true name. Again, the experts will eventually chime in here and clear this up for us.
I'm not an expert but, as I understand it, Great Lines and Big Lines are ostensibly not the same. Castello made Big Lines in the past but only started making them again in quantity in the last couple of years. Now they have both Big Lines and Great Lines. Most of the recent Big Lines I've seen are huge (110 grams or more), whereas Great Lines can come in a range of sizes—including huge! The distinction between a regular Big Line and a giant Great Line seems to be arbitrary. Both can be rough, or have excellent grain, and both can receive the Pezzo Unico (unique piece) designation. I guess the only sure thing is that Big Lines are always super-sized.

I have no idea why Castello resurrected the Big Line designation (other than to sow confusion) unless they discovered a stock of giant stummels they wanted to make use of but didn't want to saturate the Great Line market.

AroEnglish

Lifer
Jan 7, 2020
Midwest