PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Distant Roads

Lurker
Sep 9, 2024
Lithuania
Hello everyone! I am a newbie in pipe smoking. I've smoked a few different blends so far. I dedicate each of my pipes to each type of blend: English, Burley, Virginias, Aromatic blends.

I will visit the USA in a month. I have the opportunity to buy some "American" blends that are not available (or not allowed to order) in Europe. Very exciting!

Please help me decide. What would be your advice for American blends:

1. „The most legendary/the most traditional“ American blend

2. „really interesting“ American blend

3. „most common“ American blend

4. „Classic/typical/best“ American English blend

5. „Classic/typical/best“ American Aromatic

6. „Classic/typical/best“ American Virginia-based blend

7. „Classic/typical/best“ American Burley and other

Anything else I should bring home? :)

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

BayouGhost

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 10, 2024
Louisiana
Assuming we are ruling out Danish/German/UK and other European blends:

1. Carter Hall gets a lot of talk, but I have yet to try it.

2. Ken Byron Ventures Myrkwood with its added rustica element or maybe something with dark fired like C&D Jackknife plug.

3. GL Pease Union Square. Repeated later.

4. LJ Peretti Tashkent. Drucquer and Sons Blairgowrie. GLP Sparkplug.

5. I don't smoke aromatics so no answer here, but maybe Boswell's Northwoods qualifies since it may have an aromatic topping. I may be incorrect on this.

6. GL Pease Union Square, C&D Opening Night, Ken Byron Ventures: VanGogh

7. Old Joe Krantz and Pegasus by C&D. 8 State Burley if you can find it.

8. Added category. Virginia-Perique. C&D Bayou Morning ribbon or flake.

I could probably re-make this list 5 times with all different choices, but this was a quick try. Good luck.

Reactions: Distant Roads

Sig

Can't Leave
Jul 18, 2023
Western NY