PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rustycolt

Lurker
Jul 13, 2013
Canada
So I'm new to pipes, but I'm a quick learner, and I'm not afraid to get dirty. I've had a chance to get my hands on a few estate pipes that needed some love. I have found a vast and friendly community, happy to share their experiences, and have learned a great deal. I wanted to contribute my own novice experience to this mix. While I wouldn't describe what I did here as a "restoration" per se, as it was not a complete overhaul, it could be termed that depending on your definition.
I've only had my hands on a couple of the poop-ton of different methodologies that others describe, and have managed to find success early on in my experimentation. There are pros and cons to my process, and I love the fact that no matter how excellent one gets at this, there is ALWAYS room to improve, and no two jobs will ever be identical! This is a great, rewarding hobby, and to me, performing all of the steps by hand, and without machinery is all part of the enjoyment. Takes longer, but I'm not exactly paying myself an hourly rate here. I work with devices all day, every day, and I like them very much, but I also appreciate manual process and the feeling of solid tools and aged briar in my hands.
Enough of that, on to the pipe: