PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

SSGT.

Lurker
Jul 7, 2024
Sealy Texas
Pardon me for sounding dumb or weird but I'm only a year or so into pipe smoking and I am still learning and sampling. I just got some Daughters & Ryan Windsail Silver and I think its ok, but it is my first Virginia, and I found it to have a slight salty taste. I was just wondering if all Virginias are like this or if it is a trait of the brand.

Reactions: jbfrady

mpjetset

Starting to Get Obsessed
"... it is my first Virginia, and I found it to have a slight salty taste. I was just wondering if all Virginias are like this or if it is a trait of the brand.
Virginia blends are complex. I sometimes get a saltiness, but inconsistently, even though I tend to stick with one blend for a week or more. I was guessing that my "salt" buds were lighting up from something else going on physiologically - something I ate or drank, perhaps. But, yes, I feel it too sometimes.

Lumbridge

(Pazuzu93)
Feb 16, 2020
Cascadia, U.S.
Never thought of Virginias as salty. There are different types of Virginias and the flavors vary quite a bit, from citrus and grassy to toast and dark fruit notes, and everything in-between.

Consider C&D Yorktown for a good, straightforward VA blend, or Newminster 400 flake for a pleasantly aromatic VA smoke. Amphora Virginia is another straight, non-aromatic VA I've been enjoying lately.

dottlejockey

Part of the Furniture Now
I've gotten that before, but not necessarily from straight VA. More like Vapers. Captain Earle's Honor Blend is one more recently. Also, they didn't name one of them Salty Dogs for no reason! :P

However, to answer your question: no, that's not a typical trait for VA (or Vapers for that matter). Try a few more...heck, try as many as you can. Taste is subjective. That's how you build your own personal repertoire and know what you like/dislike.

Suggestions: C&D Opening Night and ES 4th Gen 2012. Digging these lately.

Reactions: FLDRD and jbfrady

SSGT.

Lurker