PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pooredward

Lurker
Sep 7, 2012
hey guys, relative newbie here with a question about the finish on my pipe.
my favorite pipe so far in my small collection is a Savinelli miele with a beautiful grain. I've had this pipe for only a few weeks. I was cleaning it the other day and noticed some scuffing or marks on the outside of the bowl, a pattern of dullness on the otherwise beautiful finish. it looks like just some dirt, so I took a damp cloth and tried to clean it but it won't come off. I've been very careful with this pipe so I don't think it got physically scraped or anything. anybody know what is going on here? Is there some coating on new pipes that can be marred? Any way to clean or restore this? Thanks in advance!
Edit: Moved to Pipe Repair and Maintenance, L.

topd

Lifer
Mar 23, 2012
Emerson, Arkansas
As a newly retired Marine (21 years ago) I was always worried about my hunting weapons not being

perfectly clean, and my boots being scuffed. My wife worries about the silver not being polished

and the floor doesn't look freshly swept after a couple hours.

I say just smoke it for a while and don't look at it.... Worry about it later, when you decide if

it really needs anything

mlaug

Part of the Furniture Now
May 23, 2010
Iowa
It could be as simple as the wax on the finished surface wore off from handling, heat, or whatever.
Will it buff to a shine again? It isn't uncommon for a new pipe to loose wax a little more quickly than an older one with some buildup.

pooredward

Lurker
Sep 7, 2012
Thanks for the welcome! I'll try to get a picture after work (but it may not come across well on a photo, we'll see).
D - I appreciate your sentiment and I can definitely get with that, I mostly just want to see if there's something I may be doing wrong that could further damage the finish. My hands may be grubby but they're not THAT grubby :)