PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hymnchimney

Might Stick Around
Feb 18, 2020
Morganton, NC
I'm relatively new to piping, but one name that I have consistently heard in extremely high regard is the Penzance by Esoterica. Another thing I've come to be made aware of is that Penzance is even harder to find a tin of than most of Esoterica's elusive blends. That said, if I want to get a general idea of what the allure Penzance is without banging my head against a wall trying to find it, and then subsequently paying an arm and a leg for secondary market prices, what other more readily-available blends would be a good place to start? Is there anything that stands up to this (in)famous mixture by Esoterica?

americaman

Part of the Furniture Now
May 1, 2019
Los Angeles, CA
Some say Quiet Nights by Pease is the closest blend to Penzance. Others may say you need to let the tin of Quiet Nights sit for a year or two to make it more similar. Regardless, it is the closest blend to Penzance I have personally tried.

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
Quiet Nights, Watch City Ahab’s Comfort is pretty close, and one that is similar but IMO better is HU Fayyum and Fayyum Kake. The HU is readily available but requires ordering from germany and expensive shipping.

Reactions: rushx9

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
When I was an English smoker Penzance was one of my favorites. Another favorite not like Penzaance but a great blend in it's own right was Twp Friends Deacons Downfall. It is easy to get and for my money was very tasty.
When I was buying Penzance it was easy to get and was a 5 dollar tin. There were many more blends that were sought after and Penzance was consider a nice blend but not earth shattering.

Today the hype is ridiculous. I would never overpay for Penzance when Deacons Downfall and others are priced correctly and readily available.

smokeyweb

Dec 29, 2013