PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

triprolo

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 20, 2009
TN
I'm new to smoking a pipe. I have been looking for a great smelling tobacco like my paw-paw used to smoke. Just the other day a friend of mine gave me a pipe and I smelled the bowl and it smelled GREAT. I asked him what kind of tobacco he smoked in it and he said he didn't remember.
Is it possible to smell a bowl and tell what kind of tobacco was smoked in it? I have smoked a few bowls and it just smells like and ash tray afterward. Like I said, newbie here!

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
The only thing I can get from smelling the bowl after smoking is what type of tobacco was smoked in it. Like a Latakia blend, Virginia blend, Aromatic blend, etc.

admin

Smoking a Pipe Right Now
Staff member
Nov 16, 2008
St. Petersburg, FL
pipesmagazine.com
Smell my finger!
Just kidding.
Now you just made me smell my bowl too. It actually didn't smell too bad.
I guess it would be intriguing to be given a pipe that smells great and want to know what gave it that smell, and frustrating to not be able to find out.
Will your friend agree to undergo hypnosis?
Here's our resident hypnotist:

http://pipesmagazine.com/pipe-smoking-females-girls-smoking-pipes-pipe-babes/?album=8&photo=315
Seriously though, the good news is that there are tons of good tobaccos to try.
The thing with "great smelling tobaccos" is that many of them can burn your tongue. This is commonly referred to as tongue bite.
Python, what was the aromatic we were discussing this weekend? We need to recommend it to triprolo.

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
Kevin Said: Python, what was the aromatic we were discussing this weekend? We need to recommend it to triprolo.
Right off the top of my head, I don't remember. We talked about so much I am having difficulty remembering everything, lol.