PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Silverwing

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 14, 2024
Bowling Green, KY
What instrument(s) do you play?

How long have you been playing?

What kind of music do you like to play?

Do you have any adjacent interests you care to share? (I.e. You're a foley artist, collect boutique studio gear, modular synths, DIY guitar pedals and amps, etc?)

Silverwing

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 14, 2024
Bowling Green, KY
I started playing drums really young, about 7 y/o. I moved on to guitar at about 12-13, and I'm 33 now so I've been playing guitar about 20 years. I play piano, banjo and bass guitar as well and I enjoy singing, but I'm definitely most accomplished at playing guitar.

I like to play really extreme metal, but I also really enjoy playing classic rock and blues. I probably spend more time playing blues than anything else. I was actually born in the town that gave the Allman Brother's song "Statesboro Blues" its namesake. Blind Willie McTell, a Statesboro native, originally wrote the song. The story goes that the Allman Brother's supposedly decided to cover it while sitting in a jail cell in our humble little town. Based on my own interactions with the SPD, I'm inclined to believe that. In fact, I have written it into a song I play on Banjo, or on guitar in an open tuning and it goes, "The SPD is much obliged, though its ways ain't justified, when it comes to what it done to all my kin."