PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

corvinvelegost

Might Stick Around
May 1, 2012
I am new to the pipe smoking community and would very much like to find a club and learn from people who have the experience i lack. Anyone in the Rochester area? I live much closer to Canandaigua but would be willing to make a drive into the city.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
I work up near Canandaigua but have yet to find a smoke shop in that area (Baroodys in Geneva is pretty weak, you can't even smoke in the new shop any more).

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
I think I'm it for Rochester proper. Well, at least that's how is seems. I suppose there could be more ROC lurkers who just don't post. I've also never heard of any pipe club. PM me if you want to meet up. I don't claim to have any special knowledge, I only know how to do things the way I learned on my own. Kinda the way everyone learns when you think about it...
-Jason

jpants

Lurker
Oct 23, 2012
I live south of ROC in Honeoye falls... there is a pretty sweet tobacco shop in East Rochester called Havana House that has a real nice lounge.

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
Don't know how I missed this one, jpants.
Havana House is good (especially for the lounge) but their pipe tobacco selection is next to nil. There are some HTF (Hard-To-Find) and OOP (Out-Of-Production) blends there, but they are far an few between. I personally like Dewey Ave. Smoke Shop in Rochester, although I realize HF isn't that close to make frequent trips. It would behoove you to check them out at least once. I mostly get stuff online since it's easier to find that way and I don't have to wait for someone to order-it-maybe-when-I-feel-like-it-or-remember-maybe...
The offer still stand for anyone in the area. I'm down with meeting up, although with the winter months approaching, finding a nice, WARM place to share a smoke will be tough to find. Anyway, let me know.
-Jason

jpants

Lurker