PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dunendain

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 22, 2009
I have been smoking a pipe since 2004. I still don't seem to have a clue about when, or how much I should ream my pipes. I usually take a very small knife and make a mess of it. I seem to cut too much of the cake in certain places, and the pipe starts heating up, until the cake rebuilds. Anyone that can help, do tell.

hauntedmyst

Lifer
Feb 1, 2010
Chicago
You'll find a different answer from just about every pipe smoker. Some people use a pocket knife, other people use sandpaper. The one solid rule is to not let your cake get thicker than a nickel since it can crack the bowl. I use 2 different reamers since they are both quick and easy and I've never had any damage in 30 years of smoking.
This one most of the time
001-069-0004.jpg

This one for anything that one won't clean.
001-002-0010.jpg

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
I mainly use a Senior Reamer which is the second photo that Haunted posted. It works great.
Always start off with it adjusted all the way close and slowly adjust it open remove the cake a little bit at a time. Keep doing that until your cake is between the thickness of a dime and a nickle. I prefer to keep my cake around the thickness of a dime.
You do not want to remove your cake in chunks, you want to shave it off so that it is like a dust. That is why you want to go slowly and increase the diameter of the reamer by small increments. Also, you want to turn the reamer in one direction only. Don't go back and forth with it.

alleycat

Lurker
Jun 1, 2010
If you do get a Senior Reamer (as suggested by Haunted and Bob) there are some videos on YouTube for using it. I've never really watched them, but if you're new to doing this they might be helpful.
Also, there is some guy on eBay that sells the basic reamer (new) for a good price (and no, it's not me).

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009