PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipeMarc

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 14, 2017
South East
This is more a discussion post. I’ve been smoking a pipe and in the hobby since 2014 to preface this.

Over the years I find myself waxing and waning in the hobby. Sometimes monthly. This can pertain to being on a cigar kick, or cooler weather creeping in and I find myself with a pipe in hand every evening, reading forums, chasing a pipe or tobacco, and reading related posts.

The pipe hobby can be obsessive. Scouring the sites for estate pipes, looking for vintage tobaccos, posting on forums etc. Almost like everything else doesn’t exists.

The question I pose is why the lull. Why do I feel a lull in the passion sometimes. Is it because I’m bored? Is it because the forum grows stale? Or is it because along with a couple other passions one peaks my interest at a certain time?

A lot of the codgers here will hate this post, that’s okay. I’m just curious if other pipe smokers feel this way. Does a similar pattern happen to you? If so what other passions creep in that seem to have you neglect the pipe smoking hobby?

Like many of you, the time and resources I have put into this hobby would make it seem like it’s here forever and all being. What’s gives? Why do I feel a lull sometimes?

Could it be the lack of shows, the lack of constant content?

Sure I will always enjoy smoking a pipe, but to a lot of us there is more to this hobby than partaking.

Curious to what the members think.

Epip Oc'Cabot

Can't Leave
Oct 11, 2019
For me, a pipe has been the instrument of choice for tobacco since starting in the late 70s. Of course I tried other forms of tobacco consumption, but none seemed as good in my opinion. Probably consumed less than 1/2 of one pack of cigarettes all that time. Nasal snuff….. tried once, did not enjoy. Chew and related types, perhaps a handful of times total. Cigars….. I enjoy a little bit more, perhaps once a month or two.