PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

carpart67

Lurker
Jan 21, 2012
Nova Scotia, Canada
Can packing too lightly make it hard to keep your pipe lit? I had a bowl of Eileens Dreams tonight and had difficulty keeping it burning. I'm still very new to pipe smoking, so it's not too surprising, just trying to figure out what I may be doing wrong. I let the tobacco sit out to dry aprox 45 minutes before I smoked it. Is that a good amount of drying time? I read that aromatics should be packed lighter, but in hindsight it was probably packed quite lightly.
I'm wondering if I'm over doing it on the light packing. My first time smoking a pipe I knew nothing, I put some Captain Black in the bowl, crammed it down with my finger, lit it,no tamping, and it stayed lit pretty good.
Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Trust your gut. If you think it's too light, then it probably is. But light packing is easily fixed with some light tamping.
As far as drying, I wouldn't worry too much about it. I don't smoke aromatics anymore, but when I did I never felt the need to dry out tobacco very often. Personally I think it's a "tweak", not a necessity.

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
Packing too tight or too loose will do it mate. If you are just starting out you should think about the Gravity fill method. Pinch a finger full of baccy and let it trickle into bowl, do this untill bowl is full. Press down gently on baccy then repeat process. When you are done the baccy should be a little springy. Light pipe and allow to go out. Press down again, gently on baccy. Relight and enjoy.

vegasblue

Might Stick Around
Jan 23, 2012