Newbie Needs Help With Inherited Pipe. Tyrolean?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeremyh

Lurker
Dec 22, 2012
Hi all. I'm very new to pipes, and know very little. I just inherited a piece. I was hoping someone could help me get a little more information about it. It belonged to one of my wife's grandfathers.

Based on the shape and bowl cap, I think this is the "Tyrolean" or old world style, yes? I notice the bowl is lined with metal. Is this fit for smoking? I've always heard that metal bowls are not ideal. So maybe this is more of a tourist's keepsake? Also, there is a tear at the fabric section of the stem, which appears to have some sort of spring underneath. What is the purpose of the spring? Is it worth repairing? Could I do it myself?
Thanks very much for your time, and happy smoking!
Jeremy

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Yes, you have an oldie there. My guess is that the bowl is lined with a tin insert to protect the wooden bowl, which I suspect is carved from a fruitwood. The flexible hose you mention is so the pipe can dangle at an angle and not lean toward the smoker. They are still made, mostly for tourists, and I'll wager you can find a piece to fit it if you search the internet enough.

loneredtree

Part of the Furniture Now
May 27, 2011
Sierra Foothills
It looks well used judging by the wear on the stem. I have looked into repairing this type of pipe and the European who does it was very expensive. I would keep it as a keepsake. If you find a reasonable repair shop please post same.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Welcome aboard Jeremy!

I have a one very similar to yours, mine has a bit of carving on the bowl, although yours is obviously much older than mine. As for it being a "souvenir" that may well the true... but I love mine.

I personally believe that it is definitely worth having repaired.