PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

raywzhere

Lurker
Apr 24, 2015
Hello,

I work at a cigar shop wand would love to get into making pipes to sell at the shop and enjoy myself. I used to be a carpenter and body shop mechanic and would love to bring that knowledge to building pipes.

Anyways i was wondering if anyone would know where i can get cheap meerschaum blocks to carve.

Thanks,

Ray Carpenter

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
Meer blocks are the hardest material to obtain in pipe making from what I have been told.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Pretty hard to obtain unless you run across the occasional kit on eBay.

Supposedly Vermont Freehand gets a few in stock from time to time, but so far I've never seen any available.

bigjoe

Might Stick Around
Aug 14, 2014
Meer isn't exported uncarved to keep the Turkish carvers working at home, so blocks aren't readily available.

tobyducote

Lifer
Jun 10, 2012
New Orleans
Get some pre-drilled briar blocks and start with those...but even before you begin to start trying to carve a pipe, learn about them...learn about the mechanics of all aspects of a pipe..draft hole, chamber size, stem draw...etc. There is so much more to making a "good" pipe than just carving a shape from a block of wood or any other material...good luck, and grow your knowledge of what makes a pipe great and then go make great pipes

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Not at all sure how true this is, but evidently it’s been illegal to export meerschaum blocks since the 60’s. The occasional and very rare available kits which are pre-drilled with a stem are considered as a ‘pipe’ and therefore exempt. Supposedly it’s supposed to protect the Turkish industry which it seems to have the distinct strong hold, as it were, on producing meerschaum pipes and their artistry for all these many years. Perhaps on more knowledgeable can shed more light on this subject.