PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

macaroni

Lifer
Oct 28, 2020
Texas
I'm new to cigar storage, having bought some from SP recently -- not a huge amount (25). As little as I smoke cigars, one every several months--these may last a few years. Can I use large canning jars or mylar bags for storage (got lots on hand from cellaring pipe tobacco)? Thanks for any tips.
kindly,
mike

Jun 25, 2021
England
I've been thinking of using canning Jars also, and just as they come, without any extra humidifiers.
But what do I know, I'm a bit green when it comes to cigars.
It will be interesting to hear what the guys have to say.

1. Store it in an air tight container
2. Throw in 2 x 60 g Boveda packs (1 Boveda for every 25 cigars + 1 Boveda)
3. Check your Boveda every 4-6 months. If your container is really airtight and / or the RH of your house is controlled the Boveda packs should last a long time

Whether the cigars last without Boveda. I don’t know, and I have not heard anyone try and I won’t risk it.

Reactions: instymp
Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL
No to jars or mylar bags for Cigars, at least for long term. They benefit by breathing. Best storage is a humidor. If you do store them in an air right container, don't let them get too most of they'll get mold. You can get a small humidor that will do the job for $75.

macaroni

Lifer
Oct 28, 2020
Texas
No to jars or mylar bags for Cigars, at least for long term. They benefit by breathing. Best storage is a humidor. If you do store them in an air right container, don't let them get too most of they'll get mold. You can get a small humidor that will do the job for $75.
Mark--(@hoosierpipeguy)is there a small humidor you might recommend? Thanks and a Happy upcoming Turkey day to You and Your's (and to All).
kindly
mike
p.s.--take that dang picture down, it's making me jealous!! :))

Reactions: hoosierpipeguy

pantsBoots

Lifer
Jul 21, 2020
Terra Firma