PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

pipedreams101

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 1, 2012
Hey guys... i bought a little bent bulldog pipe off ebay to use as a knock around pipe for fishing and such. The pipe was in need of a good cleaning so i took the normal route, 3 salt treatments for the bowl, 2 oxy baths for the stem and two retorts til the alcohol came out nice and clean. The pipe turned out very nice, i was so pleased with myself on my first restore.....until i put the pipe to my lips. it has a faint "musty" tasting draw to it, i did a couple more retorts but cannot get it to go away. any suggestions as to what i need to do to help this pipe out? or am i just being picky and really its clean, just need to smoke a few bowls through it re break it in??

kyletheaviator

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 16, 2012
just need to smoke a few bowls through it re break it in??
That's what I'd do, but I'm no expert on the matter. All the estates I've picked up were in great conditions and needed little to no restore.

pipedreams101

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 1, 2012
thanks, ill just suck it up and smoke it a couple times to see whats up. i an inhaler and couldnt get the thought of moldy spores intering my lungs..thought id better ask for some advise before i stared smoking it lol

pipedreams101

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 1, 2012
Thanks, i dont believe this particular pipe is worth the investment of an ozone treatment, although i hear good things about the process and wal,ker briar works. i got it for a couple bucks and wanted to see if i had the knack for restoring or not. i have other pipes ofcourse and i am not too dependant on this little guy. so no worries if it manages to fall in the trash lol

msandoval858

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 11, 2012
Austin, TX
After all that cleaning, I'd say just run a couple of bowls of a nice heavy latakia blend through it. That should knock it out.